ABOUT OUR INN
The Bee and Thistle Inn was built in 1756 as a residence for Judge William Noyes and his family. The house originally sat near the Boston Post Road but was moved back to its present position and lovingly renovated by the Hodgdson family at the turn of the last century. At that time, the sunken garden, the porches and back portion of the house were added.
In the 1930’s, Henrietta Greenleaf Lindsay, a widow with a large house to maintain, followed the advice of her actress friend, Elsie Ferguson, and opened the Bee and Thistle Inn to the public. Because it was Elsie’s idea, it was named the Bee and Thistle Inn after the Ferguson clan emblem in Scotland. It has remained an inn since that time offering charming accommodations, award-winning dining and gracious service.
The town of Old Lyme, once a shipping colony, became well known in the late nineteenth century as an arts community. The town has remained committed to supporting the arts and preserving its quiet charm. Following this tradition, the Bee and Thistle Inn features artwork from local galleries as well as individual pieces from area artists.
Innkeepers Linnea and David Rufo